I’m going to lie in your arms
When they’re tired and weak
I’m going to lie on your chest
When you want to sleep
I’m going to lie on your shoulder
And burp up some food

Daddy, I’m going to lie
I just want you to know
I’m going to lie
I’m sorry, but I must tell you so

I’m going to lie when others cry
Say it wasn’t me and deny
I’m going to lie in the pantry
With food on my face which I’ll say I didn’t eat
I’m going to lie when you put me to bed
So I can sleep in your room, I’ll have a hurt head
I’m going to lie

Daddy, I’m going to lie
I just want you to know
I’m going to lie
I’m sorry, but I must tell you so

I’m going to lie when I come home from school
Say it was fine and go to my room
I’m going to lie about the tears on my face
The sadness I know you’ll want to erase
I’m going to lie and say I did my homework
So that you and I can play till bed that day
I’m going to lie

Daddy, I’m going to lie
I just want you to know
I’m going to lie
I’m sorry, but I must tell you so

I’m going to lie about the girls at school
Say that they are nice, possibly even cool
I’m going to lie about the boys too
Say that there are none that I pursue
I’m going to lie when he cheats on me
Say it was my fault or not meant to be

Daddy, I’m going to lie
Don’t let it break your heart
Daddy, I’m going to lie
I just want you to know
I’m going to lie, but I still love you so

I’m going to lie in the hospital room
By your side as you’re nearing the tomb
I’m going to lie, say it’s okay to let go
I’ll say I’ll be okay, but I want you to know
I’m going to lie, I’d rather you stay
Daddy, I’ll be lying when I say I’m okay

Daddy, I’m going to lie
I just want you to know
I’m going to lie
I’m sorry, but I must tell you so

I’m going to lie in your arms
When they’re tired and weak

